Use the trunk as a ported enclosure - Audio & Electronics Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Use the trunk as a ported enclosure
Thursday, April 14, 2011 7:10 AM
hey, I've been messing with car audio products for more than a few years, have done many kinds of builds, but I've never tried using the trunk of a car as an enclosure. I've read about using it in an infinite baffle install, but haven't seen anything about a ported setup like that. I recently got a RE sx18 and am trying to figure out a way to install it in my 04 cavy without using my backseat area. I was wondering if i was to seal off the trunk completely, besides the trunk lid, use 2 18's mounted to a board where my backseat used to be, seal it off good of course, and have the ports on the same board, would it still perform well and not lose too much sound? The trunk is either 13.2 or 13.6 ft3, and those subs need a box between 5.5 and 8 ft3 a piece. Or i can go with the one 18 i have, and just foam in the sides of the trunk, seal off the spare tire well, and go with a smaller port and the same sub on 1 board, mounted & sealed where the backseat was.

Re: Use the trunk as a ported enclosure
Thursday, April 14, 2011 7:42 AM
Thursday, April 14, 2011 8:05 AM
looks wicked. i was trying to avoid a box like that though. i'm shooting for low 12s or 11s in the 1/4, so i'm not trying to add another 200 lbs to the car. if so i would've kept my 6 jbl p1022's in the back seat. I'm just trying to find a happy medium, keep storage space (where the backseat was), lotta bass, and trying to keep the weight down where i can. The infinite baffle setup would be nice if it can be ported, it would save a lot of weight in mdf. I've just never seen or heard of it being tried.
Thursday, April 14, 2011 8:11 AM