Manual shift boot in a 3 speed. - Interior Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Manual shift boot in a 3 speed.
Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:44 AM
First I would like to say I am a NEWBIE! but I did my research on here as best I could (didn't really want to search 1000's of posts for something that can be answered pretty easily).

I have a 98 Sunfire SE Coupe with the 3 speed manual. A while back the shift interlock cable (which makes it so you have to push the button on the shifter to move it) got screwed up. This was nice, because I can now use a manual shift knob. I am now considering shortening up my shifter (to clear my in dash DVD player better in park) and would like to switch to the manual trans shift boot and ebrake covers. Anyone have one laying around or know where I can get one? I searched on eBay but only found them with the entire console attached. The local junkyards don't have any manual 95 - 03 Sunfires sitting around. HELP!

And before you flame me and go crazy (because I saw the guy with the skull shifter... LOL) I am not doing it for anything other than the clearance and the manual boot to make it look cleaner. I AM NOT SLAMMIN GEARS. I like my transmission. Hehe

----

Re: Manual shift boot in a 3 speed.
Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:48 AM
*edit

"3 speed manual" should say "3 speed automatic"

Wow - I am an idiot. Too early in the morning I guess.

----

Thursday, October 21, 2010 6:32 AM
I wouldnt know becuase I bought a manual, but to do what your thinking, you'd have to get a top center console piece from a manual along with the shift boot and all that stuff, some one correct me if Im wrong.

CarDomain: http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3828276
Thursday, October 21, 2010 7:20 AM
Fashow69 wrote:I wouldnt know becuase I bought a manual, but to do what your thinking, you'd have to get a top center console piece from a manual along with the shift boot and all that stuff, some one correct me if Im wrong.